Cronulla Caringbah Club History

Cronulla Caringbah Sharks Junior Rugby League Football Club was formed in 1952 and was one of the foundation clubs when the Cronulla Sutherland Junior League was formed in 1963. In 1964 Cronulla Caringbah’s A-Grade side was accepted into the Second Division competition and in 1967 accepted into Rugby League First Division.

Due to the success of the Junior League within the shire it was decided that it would be in the best interest of Rugby League to enter this team as Cronulla-Sutherland. The “Sharks” we know today were born, the only First Grade team to originate from a Junior Club.

In 2016 the Club broke new ground, fielding teams in U14’s, U16’s and First Grade women’s competition.

Cronulla Caringbah’s Clubhouse and grounds are located at 31 Bates Bay Road, Greenhills Beach NSW 2230 adjacent to Cronulla High School.

Cronulla Caringbah Club Song

We wear Black, we wear White,
We don’t go down without a fight,
We’re Cronulla Caringbah.

If you think you’ve got the stuff,
Play the boys who play it tough,
We’re Cronulla Caringbah.

If you’re standing in our way,
On the ground is where you’ll lay,
We’re Cronulla Caringbah.

When the whistle blows to stop,
The Black and Whites will be on top,
We’re Cronulla Caringbah.

Life Members Honour Roll

Alan Clarkson (Deceased)
Alan McKenzie (Deceased)
Alex Laski
Anthony Beare
Betty Morgan (Deceased)
Bevan Gardiner
Bob Morgan
Brendan Fernley
Brett Barnes
Brian Crawley (Deceased)
C.Ringstad (Deceased)
Charlie Bate
Craig Jonas
Darcy Renshaw (Deceased)
Darren McKinnery
Dave Poulter
Dean Gillard
Don Nash
Edward Woodford
George Richardson
Graeme Bloor
Greg Hearnden
Greg McMaster
Greg Vaughan
Greg Willett
Isabell Purcell
J.Tooney (Deceased)
Jeff McKay
Jim Townsend (Deceased)
Jimmy Crompton
John Highfield (Deceased)
Ken Scarratt (Deceased)
Les (Mick) Poole
Les Bell
Lyle Ward
Max Phillips
Norm Piddington
Pamela Dean
Phil Young
Robert Cartwright (Deceased)
Ross Giles
Scott Porter
Steve Hodson
Terry Willett
Vince McAloon (Deceased)
Warren Major (Deceased)
William Purcell (Deceased)

Juniors to Play First Grade

Russell Aitken   (Cronulla / Melbourne)
Les Bell   (Newtown / Cronulla)
Paul Bishop   (Cronulla / Warrington / Gold Coast)
Rick Bourke   (Cronulla / Souths)
Harry Bryant   (Cronulla / Souths)
David Chamberlin   (Cronulla)
Glenn Coleman   (Cronulla)
Andrew Dallalana   (Cronulla)
Scott Dudman   (Cronulla / Canberra)
Col Eadie   (Cronulla)
Steve Edmonds   (Cronulla)
John Glossop   (Cronulla)
Tony Graham   (Cronulla / St. George)
Matt Hilder   (Cronulla / Gold Coast / Newcastle)
Chris Hyland   (Cronulla)
Peter Kedwell   (Cronulla)
Michael Lichaa   (Cronulla)
Nathan Long   (Cronulla / Manly / St George Illawarra)
Tyrone Peachey (Cronulla / Penrith)
Guy Picken   (Cronulla / St. George)
John Purcell   (Western Suburbs Magpies)
Barry Russell   (Cronulla)
Brad Takairangi   (Roosters / Gold Coast / Parramatta)
Rex Williams   (Cronulla / Illawarra)
Chris Withall   (Cronulla / Illawarra)
Curtis Scott   (Melbourne Storm)